Group nets quarter of this year’s 106 shortlisted entries, with Manchester, Merseyside and East Scotland subsidiaries in the running for top prize


Stagecoach East Scotland is shortisted for the Top Shire Operator prize


Stagecoach has received the highest number of shortlisted entries for this year’s prestigious UK Bus Awards. The shortlist contains 106 names – of people, projects and organisations.

Perth-based Stagecoach has received one quarter of the shortlisted entries (27) – more than twice the number it received last year. The group will be hoping that this is a good foundation for a successful afternoon at the presentation ceremony on November 20 at Troxy, London.

The ALBUM grouping of independent and municipal bus companies received the second highest number of shortlisted entries (22), with Lothian and Uno each achieving five entries.

Go-Ahead Group achieved the third highest number of shortlisted entries (17), followed by Arriva (9) and RATP Dev (7). FirstGroup only managed one shortlisted entry this year.

As usual, the winner of the coveted ‘UK Bus Operator of the Year’ prize will be selected from the winners of the City, Shire and Independent categories. Table-topping Stagecoach is represented by Stagecoach Manchester and Stagecoach Merseyside in the Top City Operator category and Stagecoach East Scotland in the Top Shire Operator category. They are among 16 companies that could be named UK Bus Operator of the Year, including current champion Go South Coast.

Go-Ahead has four operating companies competing for the top prize: Plymouth Citybus in the City category and Go South Coast, Metrobus and Oxford Bus Company in the Shire category.

National Express West Midlands is also shortlisted, along with a trio of local authority-owned companies: Lothian, Nottingham City Transport and Reading Buses.

The shortlisted entries cover 19 categories, ranging from Top National Bus Driver to the New Horizons award (see page opposite).

The awards are a symbol of excellence within our industry, and the quality of the 2018 entries reflect this

Mark Yexley, chairman of the UK Bus Awards, commented:  “The awards are a symbol of excellence within our industry, and the quality of the 2018 entries reflect this. The judging process is very tough, and all our finalists should be proud of their achievements.”

He added: “It’s a great honour to support, celebrate and reward all the remarkable work that’s undertaken by transport teams up and down the country.  It’s inspiring to see how much commitment there is from employees and organisations to enhance all areas of bus travel.”

To book tickets to the presentation ceremony visit

Bus and the Community Award

  • BUSter’s Beach Party – Yellow Buses
  • Drive On – HCT Group
  • Charity of Choice – Lothian Buses
  • Second Chance – RATP Dev London
  • Charity and community – Reading Buses
  • The #BeNiceBus – Stagecoach Group
  • Newham Safer Travel Project – Stagecoach London
  • Christmas fundraising campaign – Stagecoach North East

Engineer of the Year

  • Colin Barnes – Go North East
  • Graham Smith – Nottingham City Transport
  • Terry Absalom – Stagecoach London
  • Ben Coghlan – Stagecoach Manchester

Environment Award

  • Electric vehicles – Lothian Buses
  • Liverpool Bus Alliance – Merseytravel and Partners
  • World’s largest fleet of bio-gas double deckers – Nottingham City Transport
  • World’s first zero emission electric double decker- Optare

TfL Award for London Bus Garage of the Year

  • Twickenham – Abellio London
  • Brixton – Arriva London South
  • Perivale – Metroline
  • Tolworth – RATP Dev London
  • Barking – Stagecoach London
  • Leadership & Inspiration Award
  • Oliver Monahan – Arriva Southern Counties
  • Michael Gatenby – Arriva Yorkshire
  • Jim Thorpe – Uno Bus

Making Buses a Better Choice

  • Winchester Bus Station – Hampshire County Council
  • Liverpool Bus Alliance – Merseytravel and Partners
  • Route 64 – Stagecoach South
  • Bus Services in New Residential Developments Guidance- Stagecoach Bus
  • X10 Stagecoach Express – Stagecoach Yorkshire
  • West Midlands Bus Alliance – Transport for West Midlands and Partners

The Award for Marketing Initiative of the Year

  • Big Days Out campaign – Go North East
  • Better by Bus – Merseytravel and Partners
  • Service 10 – Stagecoach North Scotland
  • The Comet, come fly with us – Uno Bus
  • Meet Violet, she’s on her way – Uno Bus Northampton
  • The Pops and the Cheshire Cat – Warrington’s Own Buses

New Horizons Award

  • Connected Apps – Arriva London
  • BusMark – Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport
  • Bus Driver Routeway – Go North East
  • Social seating – Go South Coast, Swindon’s Bus Company
  • On-Board Passenger Information System – Lothian Buses
  • How do I catch a bus? – Stagecoach East Scotland
  • VecTive – Vectare

Putting Passengers First

  • Make My Mainline – The Burnley Bus Company
  • Re-building confidence in using the bus – East Coast Buses
  • How do I catch a bus? – Stagecoach East Scotland
  • Hello London – Transport for London

ROSCO Award for Innovation in Road Safety

  • Lytx DriveCam – National Express West Midlands
  • Accident prevention days campaign – RATP Dev London
  • Walking and cycling in London – RATP Dev London
  • technology + empowered employees = safer buses – Reading Buses

The Award for Sustained Marketing Excellence

  • Bluestar, shining across the city – Go South Coast, Bluestar
  • m1 and m2 – Go South Coast, morebus
  • Journeys taken care of with GNE – Go North East
  • Express City Connect – Stagecoach East Scotland

Top City Operator

  • Lothian Buses
  • National Express West Midlands
  • Nottingham City Transport
  • Plymouth Citybus
  • Stagecoach Manchester
  • Stagecoach Merseyside

Top National Bus Driver

  • Robbie Bartle – Go South Coast, morebus
  • Garry Williams – National Express West Midlands
  • Aaron Johnson – Nottingham City Transport
  • Simon Crumpler – Stagecoach West
  • Adam Davies – Transdev Blazefield
  • Joanne Morgan – Stagecoach Manchester
  • Steven Irvine – Stagecoach Manchester
  • James Kearney – trentbarton

Top Independent Operator

  • Marshalls of Sutton-on-Trent
  • Ensignbus
  • Prentice Coaches
  • Scarlet Band Bus and Coach
  • Uno Bus Northampton

Top London Bus Driver

  • Jim Hart – Abellio London
  • Christine Watkins – Arriva London
  • David Harris – Arriva London
  • Dean Golding – Go-Ahead London
  • Natasha Smith – Go-Ahead London
  • Patrick Lawson – CT Plus
  • Anthony Banks-Walker – RATP Dev London
  • Leighton Shannon – Uno Bus

Top National Bus Depot

  • Shrewsbury – Arriva Midlands
  • Heckmondwike – Arriva Yorkshire
  • Newport, Isle of Wight – Go South Coast, Southern Vectis
  • Crawley – Metrobus
  • Grimsby – Stagecoach East Midlands
  • St Andrews – Stagecoach East Scotland
  • Sharston – Stagecoach Manchester
  • Intack – The Blackburn Bus Company

Top Shire Operator

  • Go South Coast
  • Metrobus
  • Oxford Bus Company
  • Reading Buses
  • Stagecoach East Scotland

Unsung Hero

  • Janet Cameron – Abellio London
  • Margaret Skinner – First Scotland East
  • Steve Ilbury – RATP Dev London
  • John Millar – Stagecoach East Scotland
  • Thomas McGovern – Stagecoach East Scotland
  • Matt Begg – Stagecoach Midlands

Young Manager of the Year

  • Rob Hutchings – Arriva London South
  • Alex Chutter – Go South Coast
  • Ben Coghlan – Stagecoach Manchester
  • Elizabeth Richards – Stagecoach West
  • Andy Turnbull – Transdev Blazefield


This article appears inside the latest issue of Passenger Transport.

DON’T MISS OUT – GET YOUR COPY! – click here to subscribe!