The shortlist has been announced for the 2012 UK Bus Awards, containing more than 90 people, projects and organisations selected from over 270 nominations to go forward to the final judging and mystery traveller checks.

Congratulating all the shortlisted entries, UK Bus Awards chairman John Owen commented: “It has been a bumper year for entries, proving that the industry really is determined to grow and improve in today’s challenging trading conditions.

“The number and quality of entries in this, our 17th year, has made for interesting and lively judging panels. In some cases the scoring was very close indeed – testament to the quality of the nominations,” he continued.

“Each year we see real efforts to reposition the bus as a desirable product and there are some really good examples in the shortlist. It’s not only the major groups, but also smaller independents who are continually looking to raise their game.”

The shortlist includes representatives from virtually all sectors of the bus industry, with the Go-Ahead Group heading the list with 20 places, followed by Stagecoach with 13 places, Arriva with 10 and FirstGroup with nine. Other groups, independents and municipal operators also feature strongly, reflecting the diversity in the industry.



Operating Awards:

Top Express Operation, sponsored by Volvo Bus

  • Arriva the Shires – Green Line 757
  • Oxford Bus Company – the airline
  • Scottish Citylink – Express Service Network
  • Stagecoach East Scotland – Express City Connect

Top National Bus Depot, sponsored by Personal Group

  • Burnley, Transdev Blazefield
  • Crawley, Metrobus
  • Huddersfield, First West Yorkshire
  • Speke, Arriva North West

Top City Operator, sponsored by BAE Systems

  • Go North East
  • Nottingham City Transport
  • Stagecoach Manchester
  • Stagecoach Sheffield
  • Transdev Keighley & District

Top Shire Operator, sponsored by Ticketer

  • Bluestar
  • Metrobus
  • Oxford Bus Company
  • Reading Buses
  • Stagecoach South West
  • Thamesdown Transport
  • Transdev Burnley & Pendle

Top Independent Operator, sponsored by Scania

  • DRM of Bromyard
  • Ensignbus, Thurrock
  • Ipswich Buses
  • Newport Transport
  • Perrymans, Berwick-upon-Tweed


Technical & Professional Awards:

Environment Award, sponsored by Heathrow Airport

  • First Group – Small Changes, Big Difference
  • Reading Buses – Hybrid Power
  • Stagecoach East Midlands – Lincoln BioBuses
  • Stagecoach South West – Green Champions
  • Volvo Buses – The Volvo Hybrid Bus

Innovation Award, sponsored by Alexander Dennis

  • Go-Ahead Group/Go North East – The Key Lifestyle
  • Oxfordshire County Council, Oxford Bus Company and Stagecoach Oxford – Oxford SmartZone
  • Newport Transport – Unigo
  • Translink – Safety Bus
  • Stagecoach Group/Scottish Citylink – Megabus Sleeper Service
  • West Yorkshire ITA (Metro) – Metroville

The Claudia Flanders Memorial Award for Putting Passengers First

  • Go North East – Moving with our People
  • Transdev York – York Unibus, A Partnership for Progress
  • Stephensons of Essex – Breeze
  • Konectbus – Konectexpress 8

Making Buses A Better Choice: the Peter Huntley Memorial Award, sponsored by The TAS Partnership

  • Go-Ahead Group – The Key ITSO Smartcard
  • First Hampshire & Dorset with Hampshire CC – Eclipse
  • First Bristol and Partners – Greater Bristol Bus Network
  • Nottingham City Transport – Social Media & Technology
  • Stagecoach East – The Busway
  • TrentBarton – rapid 1, the car users’ choice

The Eureka! Award for Marketing Initiatives, sponsored by CBS Outdoor

  • Arriva Yorkshire – We are Yorkshire
  • Bluestar – The Smarter Way to Pay-The Key
  • Ensign Bus Company & First Essex Buses – CollegeBUS
  • Go North East – Maximising the Benefits of Social Networking
  • Reading Buses – Jet Black is the New Black
  • Translink – Metro Smart Saturdays

The Marketing Excellence Award

  • Trent Barton – MANGO-no cash, no fuss, no brainer
  • Metrobus – Horsham – Getting the Basics Right
  • Go North East – The Key
  • Reays Coaches – Hopping Mad
  • Arriva the Shires – Green Line 757

The Bus and the Community Award

  • Arriva the Shires – Keech Hospice
  • First UK Bus North Region – Charity in the Community
  • First Cymru – A Bus Company Working with its Local Community
  • First London – Greenford Library Bus
  • Network Warrington – Supporting the Community


Awards for Industry People

The Young Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport

  • Jeff Clayton (First Manchester)
  • Tom Morgan (TrentBarton)
  • Selina Pipe (Arriva Midlands)
  • Vicky Tomlinson (First West Yorkshire)

The Unsung Heroes Award, sponsored by Backhouse Jones

  • Ron Hayes (Brighton & Hove)
  • Patrick Hughes (National Express West Midlands)
  • Andrew Howard-Smith (Stagecoach Manchester)
  • Dennis Tomlinson (Transdev Burnley & Pendle)

The Chris Moyes Memorial Award for Top National Bus Driver, sponsored by Adelaide Insurance

  • Elaine Allitt (TrentBarton)
  • Ian Fraser (Stagecoach East Scotland)
  • Allan Gilmour (TrentBarton)
  • Sharon Harry (Oxford Bus)
  • Vanessa Knowling (Yellow Buses Bournemouth)
  • John Russell (Metrobus)
  • Mick Silverwood (Transdev Keighley & District)
  • Matthew Stacey (Cardiff Bus)

The Engineer of the Year Award

  • Mike Butt (Stagecoach West)
  • Russell Cato (Arriva the Shires)
  • John Trubshaw (Arriva Midlands)
  • Cliff Ward (Arriva the Shires)
  • Andrew Wilson (First Manchester)

Transport Hero Award for the 2012 Games

  • Nominations for this award close on 5 October following the completion of the Games contracts, and a shortlist will be announced later in the month.


London Awards:

TfL Award for London Bus Garage of the Year

  • Barking, Stagecoach East London
  • Cricklewood, Metroline
  • Merton, London General
  • Orpington, Metrobus
  • Putney, London General

Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver

  • Peter Bennett, Arriva London
  • Rui Branco, Abellio London
  • Scott Horney, Go-Ahead London
  • Roy Lambe, Go-Ahead London
  • Angela Spragg, Quality Line
  • Kamya Ssemakadde, London United
  • Peter Varley, Stagecoach London
  • Warren Wills, London United


Awards without shortlists:

Local Authority Project of the Year

  • There is no short-list for this award. The winner will be announced on 20 November.

UK Bus Operator of the Year, sponsored by Belmont International and QBE Insurance

  • The winner for this award will be chosen from the winners of the Top City, Top Shire and Top Independent categories, and the winner will be announced on 20 November.

Award for Services to the Bus Industry

  • There is no short-list for this award. The winner will be announced on 20 November.