UK Bus Awards shortlist reflects industry’s commitment to growth and innovation.

The shortlist has been named for the 2010 UK Bus Awards, containing 99 people, projects and organisations selected from more than 250 nominations to go forward to the final judging and mystery traveller checks.

Congratulating all the shortlisted entries, UK Bus Awards chairman John Owen commented: “In these difficult and uncertain times, we’ve been both surprised and delighted by the number and quality of entries for the 2011 UK Bus Awards.

“The combination of rising fuel prices and cuts in public spending are making life particularly difficult for everybody involved in bus service provision at the moment. Even so, our judges were really impressed by the commitment to quality and innovation shown by bus operators, local authorities and their partners in this, the awards’ 16th year,” he continued.

“Over five billion passenger journeys are made by bus every year, and the industry has a huge amount to offer in delivering the government’s key transport policy objectives. The finalists in this year’s awards are contributing hugely with their bright ideas and their commitment to customer service. They are paving the way for the future success of an industry which remains firmly at the heart of our national life.”

The shortlist includes representatives from virtually all sectors of the bus industry, with Stagecoach heading the list with 23 places, followed by FirstGroup with 11, Arriva on nine and Go Ahead Group on seven.

The municipal companies have 10 final places between them, RATP Dev four, with Transdev and National Express Group two each.

Independently-owned operators have a total of 17 places – including Trentbarton (four), Epsom Group (two) and Johnsons of Henley-in-Arden (two).

Also represented are Western Greyhound, Courtney Coaches from Wokingham, DRM of Bromyard and Reay’s Coaches from Cumbria. There are 10 places in the final stages for local authorities, including PTEs and Transport for London. Other organisations represented include Metroline, Abellio, Heathrow Airport and property developer Arnold White Estates.

The 2011 UK Bus Awards will be presented at a lunchtime ceremony on 29th November at the London Hilton.

The UK Bus Awards 2011 Shortlist

Chris Moyes Memorial Award for Top National Bus Driver
* Paul Ferry Arriva North East
* Ian Grebby Trent Barton
* Jane Greenacre First South Yorkshire
* Tony Horler Oxford Bus Company
* Stephen O’Hara Lothian Buses
* Trevor Owen Stephenson’s
* Kevin Wood Trent Barton

Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Institute of Road Transport Engineers
* John Bickerton First UK Bus
* James Wood First Manchester

Young Manager of the Year, sponsored by the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport
* Sarah Anderson Stagecoach East Scotland
* Andrew Edwards First Bristol
* Graeme Leslie Stagecoach Bluebird
* Ben Wakerley First London

Unsung Heroes Award, sponsored by Carlisle Support Services
* Rick Halsall Arriva North West
* Rita Kendrick Arriva Yorkshire
* Malcolm Morgan First Hampshire & Dorset
* Arthur Pearson Oxford Bus Company

Innovation Award, sponsored by Alexander Dennis
* Arriva UK Bus m-ticketing
* Centro Smartcard Initiative
* Norfolk County Council EBSR Success Story
* Reading Buses New Tickets for the New Decade
* Stagecoach Group StagecoachSmart
* Yellow Buses Operator Journey Planner

Accessibility: the Claudia Flanders Memorial Award, sponsored by the TAS Partnership and Guide Dogs for the Blind
* City of Edinburgh Council Talking Bus Stops
* National Express West Midlands Disability Consultation
* National Star College LIFT
* Nottingham City Council Linking the Journey
* Transport for Greater Manchester Callaghan House Project

Environment Award, sponsored by Heathrow Airport
* First London The Hydrogen Fuel Cell Project & Lea Interchange Depot
* FirstGroup UK Bus The DriveGreen Programme
* Johnsons Coach & Bus Travel Electric Bus Trial
* Oxford Bus Company Environmental Policy and Practice
* Stagecoach Group UK Bus Sustainability Strategy
* Stagecoach in Oxfordshire Introducing Electric Hybrid Buses to Oxford
* Transport for London West Ham Bus Garage

Making Buses a Better Choice
* City & County of Swansea Swansea Bus Station
* Heathrow Airport Free Travel Zone
* Metro (West Yorkshire PTE) Smaller Bus Stations Programme
* National Express Safer Travel Partnership
* North Somerset Coaches Nailsea and Blackwell Local Bus
* Reading Buses Taking Premier Routes to the Next Level
* Stagecoach Bluebird Jet 727
* Transdev Blazefield Route 36 Ideas in Action

Eureka! Award for Marketing Initiatives, sponsored by CBS Outdoor
* Brighton & Hove Integrated Bus and Train Travel Made Simple
* Centro The ‘Theo’ Summer Campaign
* East Yorkshire Motor Services Petuaria Express
* First Manchester Change Your Spots
* Plymouth Citybus Dennis Dart Project
* Stagecoach West Route 66

Marketing Excellence Award
* Reading Buses Ticketing Initiatives
* Stagecoach East Kent The Canterbury Triangle
* Stagecoach UK Bus StagecoachGold
* Stagecoach West Greener Journeys
* Stagecoach Yorkshire Creating Passenger Growth in Sheffield
* Trent Barton Red Arrow ‘red instead’

Putting Passengers First Award, sponsored by Passenger Focus
* Arnold White Estates Dash Direct, Leighton Buzzard
* Arriva North East Quorum Business Park: A Partnership for Growth
* Centro Walsall’s Voluntary Multilateral Agreement
* Lothian Buses Customer Service
* Stagecoach UK Bus CitylinkGold
* Trent Barton Putting Passengers First: A Customer Obsessed Culture

Top City Operator, sponsored by BAE Systems
* Arriva Merseyside
* Lothian Buses
* Nottingham City Transport
* Stagecoach Manchester

Top Shire Operator
* Reading Buses
* Stagecoach East Midlands
* Stagecoach South
* Stagecoach West
* Thamesdown Transport
* Western Greyhound
* Yellow Buses

Top Independent Operator, sponsored by Scania
* Courtney Coaches
* Ipswich Buses
* Johnsons Coach and Bus Travel
* Reays Coaches

Top Express Operation, sponsored by Volvo Bus
* First UK Bus Greyhound UK
* Stagecoach East X5, Cambridge to Oxford
* Stagecoach East Scotland Fife Express Operation
* Stagecoach in Oxfordshire Oxford Tube

Top National Bus Depot
* Nottingham City Transport Gotham
* Stagecoach South West Torbay
* Stagecoach West Scotland Kilmarnock
* Transdev Blazefield Burnley

The Transport for London Award for London Bus Garage of the Year
* Clapton Arriva London North
* Lea Interchange First London East
* Epsom Quality Line
* Cricklewood Metroline
* Hounslow Heath London United
* Putney London General

The Luke Rees-Pulley Charitable Trust Award for Top London Bus Driver, sponsored by Transport for London
* John Anderson Quality Line
* Stephen Appiah Go Ahead London General
* John Gibbs Arriva London
* Dalmar Ibrahim Abellio London
* Gary Jones London United Busways
* Ray Purcell Arriva London
* Frank Tumfo Stagecoach London
* Yvette Tomlin Stagecoach London

This article appears in the latest issue of Passenger Transport. Click here to subscribe.